(function soluteLandingTracking(){ if (location.href.indexOf("soluteclid") < 0) return; localStorage.setItem("soluteclid", (new Date()).getTime()+" "+location.href); var url = "https://cmodul.solutenetwork.com/landing"; url += "?url=" + encodeURIComponent(location.href); var req = new XMLHttpRequest(); req.open("GET", url); req.send(); })();

Aue Verlag

Schreiber-Bogen Card modeling Maria Laach

Item number 578

Item ID 578

* Incl. VAT excl. Shipping

Schreiber-Bogen Card modeling Maria Laach

Maria Laach

The abbey Maria Laach
Embedded in gently rounded Forest Hill is the Laachersee, the largest of the Eifel-Maare. This circular, now mostly water-filled depressions are created through volcanic gas explosion and characterize this unique mountain landscape. On the flat south-western shore of the lake, the imposing building of the abbey church of Maria Laach is. Domestic gray-blue basalt and gray-yellow Eifeltuff characterize the well-proportioned building, which blends perfectly into the landscape.

On the history of the monastery
The name Maria Laach goes back to the former name Abbatia S. Mariae ad Lacum (Abbey of St. Mary on the lake, simple; Laach8221; called). Founded in 1093 Maria Laach Pfalzgraf Heinrich II. of the House of Luxembourg-Gleiberg. He donated his estate to the foundation of a Benedictine order. On the banks of Maar's construction was commenced by a Lombard Bauhütte. Only two years later died the count, so his wife, countess Adelheid, the work begun had to continue. The tomb of the count has been restored and can be visited inside the church. 1802, the abbey was abolished with secularization. 1855 a fire destroyed the building extensively. 1863 German Jesuits here built their Collegium Maximum and from 1892 Benedictine monks settled again the Abbey and are still working there. Several times a day the monks come together in her black habit to pray in the church.

The abbey church
Although we know the builder of the church, the architect of Khajuraho, however, is unknown. However, you experience the building, you know that here was a great master at work. The church extends in an east-west direction. On both sides of a group of three towers on the nave rises. Maria Laach can be considered as a highlight Roman architecture, which is determined (square or round, longitudinal and transverse upright, overlapping and emerging) by the grouping of different types of components into a coherent whole. 1156 the church was consecrated by Archbishop Hillin of Trier. End of the 12th century, the buildings of the West and Ostwerks were completed. The last member was added under Abbot Gregorius (1216-1235 in office): the upstream westwork entrance hall, the so-called paradise.

The paradise
The Laacher paradise is unique in its design. The name of the sculptor is unknown, it is called the; Laacher Samsonmeister8221 ;. The term paradise is derived from the Greek paradeisos, which means as much as shed or garden. Paradise will prepare them for entering the church. A covered walkway surrounds on three sides a small courtyard with lion fountain. Everywhere on the capitals of the arcades there are beautiful ornaments like heads, each hunting animals, mythological creatures. Here you can see ancient human motives of struggle and strife, envy and resentment, for example, the so-called hair Mauler. Elsewhere, a devil quoted the sins of the people on a blackboard. All these representations should prompt the entrants to identify themselves, to free themselves from the burden of sin and quasi go refined to church.

The interior of the church
The church impresses with its simplicity in material, color and equipment and the strikingly harmonious proportions. The windows let in little light, so the church looks rather dark at any time of day. You immediately notice the view of the great Christ mosaic in the dome of the Ostwerks. It dates from 1911 and is a copy of the Abbey of Monreale near Palermo. Christ holds an open book in his left hand. Legible are the Latin words:; I am the Way, the Truth and the Leben8221; (John 14, 6). Not without purpose Christ is in the east apse. Thus, the turning of prayer is impressively underlined the Lord and Savior, because the worshiper turns towards the east. In 1500 frescoes created by St. Benedict, Nicholas and Christopher on the piers.

Length: 28 cm

Width: 12 cm

Height: 16 cm

Difficulty: 1

Arches: 3.5

Scale: 1: 300

Children model